skip to Main Content

Florida Trucking Association’s Safety Management Council (SMC) is made up of safety professionals from its member companies. Their primary goal is simple—make trucking in Florida as safe as possible. With this goal in mind the SMC operates year-round. With wide ranging programs and public relations campaigns, the SMC has increased both public and industry awareness of the importance of trucking safety in Florida. The SMC has been recognized by the Federal Highway Administration for its efforts. The many programs supported by the FTA’s safety professionals include:

•  Florida Professional Truck Driving Championships (qualifier for ATA’s National Truck Driving Championship)

•  Annual Safety Management Awards (awards for fleets, drivers, safety professionals)

•  Florida Vehicle Inspections

•  Herman Fauss Scholarship program (for graduating high school seniors)

•  Florida Driver Appreciation events

2017-2018 Safety Management Executive Committee

Bill Roy, Walmart Transportation – Chair
Larry Hicks, Publix Super Markets – First Vice Chair
Cary Watkins, McTyre Trucking – Second Vice Chair
Ray Lloyd, McTyre Trucking – Treasurer
John Chemello, Quality Distribution – Secretary
Tracy Linhart, Breakthru Beverage Company Florida – Immediate Past Chair
Jim Anderson, Florida Rock & Tank Lines – Awards Chair
Ralph Cartwright, XPO Logistics – TDC Chair
Jeff Stamm, Rowland Transportation – Education Chair

2018 Safety Management Council meetings

Monthly conference calls – second Tuesday of the month at 10:00 am (subject to change during holidays).
Calls are open to active members of the FTA Safety Management Council. Check your council membership at our member portal, or email us for information.

In-person meetings for 2018:

  • April 11, 2018 – Central Florida (part of the Spring Round-Up)
  • June 6, 2018 – Daytona Beach (part of the TDC)
  • October 17, 2018 – Jacksonville (part of the Fall Round-Up)
Latest Posts for Safety
Back To Top